About God

November 27, 2009 at 9:43 pm (Uncategorized)

Very often I meet people who preach religion. People who teach how to get closer to God. It irritates the hell out of me.

I believe in God, but I do not believe in religion. Not very long ago I used to be an atheist. My parents were religious people all along, and kept advising me to offer prayers, but I would never listen to them.

However as fate would have it, I turned a believer.

If you are an atheist, I hope you always remain that way. Only a very disturbing experience will make an atheist turn towards God, in desperation. I hope that situation does not arise in your life, ever.

Here is the point of this post: God is not to be taught or to be learnt. He is to be experienced, on your own. To be felt. Its like bungee jumping. You have to experience it to understand it. No amount of reading about it or thinking about it gets you any closer to it. That is my belief anyways

5 Comments

  1. Roshan Singh said,

    Its because whenever you are in pain, you remember nobody else but god, its the way we are bred.

    • Vivek said,

      No he remembers somebody else in agony and that person asks him to believe in God.
      Hence he believes in God.

      • Roshan Singh said,

        hmm 🙂

      • debayan said,

        You are generalising it, and in my case, this generalisation does not hold true, ie, I did not turn to anyone, and that person did not point me to God.

  2. Rahul Jha said,

    I agree. I believe God is a force of Nature, a psuedo force, used to explain things that can’t be be explained by logic. I think people read too much into it. We should just let things be, and we’ll all be fine.

Leave a Reply

