How bribing did not help me

October 17, 2012 at 10:28 pm (Uncategorized)

I am trying to get my damaged passport replaced for the last month or so. Damaged passports can not be replaced under the Tatkal route, hence I had to go through the whole verification procedure again. This process has been delayed further because I have not been staying at my present location for over a year.

So finally the police officer arrived for verification at my place. I paid him a bribe, and he promised that my form and papers would be dispatched the same day. Since I did not have the potocopied papers he required, I told him I would get them to the police station in the evening. Instead, trying to accommodate me because of the bribe I paid, he asked me to deposit the paper at the security guard’s room in my society which he would later collect.

Several days passed and the papers still lay with my security guard. The police officer had simply forgotten.

Had I not paid the bribe, I would have had to go to the police station to submit my papers instead and things would have moved faster,

Leave a Reply

