RTI with Northern Railway

May 13, 2014 at 7:44 am (Uncategorized)

About a month back I filed the following RTI. Today I received a reply as follows:

1) How long have the escalators been out of action?

Ans: The 2 escalators have been out of order since 20.11.2013 and 20.01.2014 respectively.

2) What caused this breakdown?

Ans: The codel life of the escalators has been completed.

3) What action has been taken so far to get them back in working state?

Ans: The escalators will be replaced by new one for which estimate is under vetting from finance.

4) Which department of the railways is responsible for the maintenance of these escalators?

Ans: The escalators are being maintained by Electrical/G Dept.

5) How much money approximately will it cost to get these escalators fixed?

Ans: The cost of a new escalator is Rs 1 Crore.


6) By what date can one expect these escalators to be fixed?

Ans: Expected by end of November 2014.

 

My observations:

1) It is going to take a full year for the railways to fix 2 escalators.

2) They are not actually fixing the broken part, They are buying new escalators.

3) Each escalator costs Rs 1 Crore, which to me seems like an absurdly high amount.

4) The financial estimate for replacing the escalators is still pending with finance department.

 

I must say I am astonished at how casually they are treating this whole thing when a working escalator at the New Delhi railway station is surely not too much to ask.

 

EDIT on 20 May 2014:

I had also filed a separate complaint at the public grievance portal (http://pgportal.gov.in/ViewStatus.aspx) registration number MORLY/E/2014/02961. Apart from that I had filed a complaint on http://customercare.indianrailways.gov.in/criscm/home.seam. The 2nd complaint carried my Greater Noida Address. I currently live in Bangalore with my wife, whereas my parents and my brother live in the Gr Noida address.

My mother today informed me that they have a received a letter from the Chief Engineer of Railways, which was basically a copy (cc) of a letter that he sent to the Electrical Engineer incharge of the escalator, asking him for a report on why the escalators have been out of action for so long. I have not seen the letter myself, but I should get a copy of it tomorrow and as soon as I do I shall put it up here in this post.

One thing I noticed is that not only are my complaints being replied to, they also send me copies of internal communication, which is really good.

 

EDIT:

I am happy to report that the 2 escalators in question have been replaced with new ones by Indian Railways! I am glad that lakhs of people will benefit from this.

 

2 Comments

  1. Debarshi Ray said,

    I must say I am astonished that they bothered to reply.

  2. debayan said,

    They do not have a choice. There is an imposition of penalty if they do not furnish information on time.

    http://www.humanrightsinitiative.org/programs/ai/rti/india/user_guide/official_punished.htm

Leave a Reply

